What Are Silver Age Comics?

What is considered to be the silver age of comic books?

The term ‘Silver Age’ refers to a general time period in which the comic books were originally available.

The Silver Age is commonly considered to have begun in 1956 and to have lasted until about 1975.

Many people consider DC Comics’ Showcase Number 4 to be the beginning of the Silver Age.

What are the different ages of comics?

Here are the four major ages for comic books in chronological order:

  • Golden Age (1938 – 1956)
  • Silver Age (1956 – 1970)
  • Bronze Age (1970 – 1985)
  • Modern Age (1985 – Present Day)

What is the Silver Age?

A silver age is a name often given to a particular period within a history coming after a historical golden age whereby the Silver Age is a replication, being similarly prestigious and eventful but less so than the prior Golden Age. In many cultures the metal silver is generally valuable but less so than gold.

What is the difference between Golden Age and Silver Age comics?

ELI5: The difference between the Golden Age of comic books and the Silver Age of comic books. The Silver Age is associated with the renewal of superheroes in the late ’50s and early ’60s after a period of a lack of interest in them.