What Is The Silver Age Of Comics?

What is the Silver Age?

A silver age is a name often given to a particular period within a history coming after a historical golden age whereby the Silver Age is a replication, being similarly prestigious and eventful but less so than the prior Golden Age. In many cultures the metal silver is generally valuable but less so than gold.

What are the different ages of comics?

Here are the four major ages for comic books in chronological order:

  • Golden Age (1938 – 1956)
  • Silver Age (1956 – 1970)
  • Bronze Age (1970 – 1985)
  • Modern Age (1985 – Present Day)

What is the difference between Golden Age and Silver Age comics?

ELI5: The difference between the Golden Age of comic books and the Silver Age of comic books. The Silver Age is associated with the renewal of superheroes in the late ’50s and early ’60s after a period of a lack of interest in them.

Who was the first female superhero created by the Marvel Silver Age comics?

4 Susan Storm, the Invisible Woman

Marvel Comics as fans know it today began back in 1961, and kicked things off with a little book known as The Fantastic Four – and single-handedly ushered in the Silver Age of Comics.

What are the three ages?

The three-age system is the periodization of history into time periods divisible by three; for example: the Stone Age, the Bronze Age, and the Iron Age; although it also refers to other tripartite divisions of historic time periods.

What age is golden age?

the first and best of the four ages of humankind; an era of peace and innocence that finally yielded to the silver age. (usually initial capital letters) a period in Latin literature, 70 b.c. to a.d. 14, in which Cicero, Catullus, Horace, Vergil, Ovid, and others wrote; the first phase of classical Latin.

We recommend reading:  Whats Dc Comics Stand For?

How can you tell if a comic book is a first print?

Barcode secrets revealed. Use it to see if your comic is a 1st print or

What are the four main American comic ages?

Here are the four major ages for comic books in chronological order:

  1. Golden Age (1938 – 1956)
  2. Silver Age (1956 – 1970)
  3. Bronze Age (1970 – 1985)
  4. Modern Age (1985 – Present Day)

Why is it called the Golden Age of comics?

The Golden Age Of Comics. Comics have been in existence since the end of the 19th century, but it was after the depression that the popularity of newspaper cartoons expanded into a major industry. The precise era of the Golden Age is disputed, though most agree that it was born with the launch of Superman in 1938.