What Is The New 52 Dc Comics?

What does the new 52 mean in DC Comics?

The New 52 is the name DC’s given to the universe-wide reboot that started September 2011.

The number in this case refers to the number of comics they’ll be publishing over the course of the month.

All of the books are reset to issue number one.

How do you read the new 52?


  • Justice League Origins.
  • Meet the New 52.
  • Meet the Superman Family.
  • Flashback / Before Modern Day.
  • Meet the Bat Family.
  • The Culling Reading Order.
  • Meet the Green Lantern Corps.
  • New 52 Year One Continued.

Is rebirth the same as new 52?

DC Rebirth is merely a continuation of the New 52. Instead of a reboot, DC kept all that was created in the New 52, and brought back characters and story lines that existed in previous continuity. But to state it again, Rebirth is the continuation of New 52.

What is the new 52 timeline?

What’s in the New 52 Reading Order?

Chronological Series Title
1381 New 52 Vol. 1 Batman Vol. 1: Court of Owls +
1382 New 52 Vol. 1 Batman and Robin: Born to Kill +
1383 New 52 Vol. 1 Batgirl Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection +
1384 New 52 Vol. 1 Nightwing Vol. 1: Traps and Trapezes +

83 more rows

Was the new 52 a failure?

The reboot, because of inconsistency across the board, ultimately failed. Particularly amongst long time comic book fans. Things like Superman and Lois Lane, who had been together before the reboot, were forced apart during it. And since Rebirth, both were killed off for pre-New52 Superman and Lois.

We recommend reading:  Quick Answer: How many words can an average person type per minute?

How did New 52 start?

DC’s current continuity – known as the “New 52” began following the FlashPoint event. That event effectively ‘reset’ the DC multiverse into 52 parallel Earths. Here are links to the collected volumes that cover both that event as well as the formation of the New 52 version of the Justice League: FlashPoint.

How many New 52 Batman issues are there?

This book has 14 issues and collects Batman #24-25, Detective Comics #25, Batgirl #25, Batwing #25, Batwoman #25, Birds of Prey #25, Catwoman #25, The Flash #25, Green Arrow #25, Green Lantern Corps #25, Nightwing #25, Red Hood and The Outlaws #25 and Action Comics #25.

Who created the new 52 universe?

Freddie E. Williams II

How many new 52 comics are there?

DC released a total of 111 ongoing titles during The New 52. To expand The New 52 universe, DC has also released 34 one-shots, 32 miniseries and four maxiseries, with one ongoing series planned.

What happened to the new 52?

The New 52 branding ended after the completion of the “Convergence” storyline in May 2015, although the continuity of The New 52 continued. In June 2015, 24 new titles were launched, alongside 25 returning titles, with several of those receiving new creative teams.

Is new 52 still canon?

Is New 52 still canon? Yes it is cannon. However, thanks to the new story being explained across the DC universe in Rebirth involving Dr Manhattan, adjustments are being made in the New 52 timeline to allow for many of the pre New 52 stories and characters to retconned into canon.

What happened to the new 52 Superman?

The death of our New 52 Superman is actually the result of all the damage he took on his year of adventures. He was first exposed to Fire Pits of Apokolips. However, the biggest result of his death was giving the New-52 Lois Lane and Lana Lang a portion of his powers when he died.